2018-05-09 / Voice at the Shore

Who will we honor, and why?

President Jewish Federation of Atlantic & Cape May Counties

Each year at our Annual Meeting & Cocktail Reception, Jewish Federation reports to the community, and its donors, on the ‘State of the Fed,’ we elect new officers and members of the board, and we give out a number of important awards to deserving individuals and organizations in our local Jewish community.

This year, as with every year, much planning goes into this annual event in order to ensure it is both an informative and enjoyable evening. Annual meetings can often be dry (boring!), so we do our very best to ensure those from the community who attend enjoy it as a social event, kibitzing with friends over cocktails and hors d’oeuvres.

Aside from the social and business aspects of Jewish Federation’s Annual Meeting & Cocktail Reception, it is extremely important for us to recognize and thank those in our community who have considerable impact on those of all ages who live in our community.

Jewish Federation, and all that takes place in our community, is the product of partnerships. There are those partnerships among people, as well as those among organizations. There are partnerships with donors, with volunteers of every description, and partnerships with those who benefit from the annual campaign and the services provided by our communal organizations. These partnerships certainly make us all more effective, but they also affect considerable change for the better in the very nature of our Jewish community.

This is why we honor a carefully-chosen few each year, and why some of the awards they receive are named for those who achieved incredible things in their time. This year, we will honor Sondra Dublinsky and Isadore May with the Campaign Achievement Award; Tina Serota, of Jewish Family Service, with the Jack I. Fox Leadership Award; Seashore Gardens Living Center with the One Jewish Community Award; Stephanie and Dan Koch with the Young Leadership Award; Judy and Dr. Leonard Galler with The Weinstein Award; and Jeff Kripitz with the Harry Cassman Award.

Each of this year’s award recipients is deserving of his or her award in ways you may not be aware, even though you may know them all very well. Each will be honored because each has contributed far more than they let on, because each works behind the scenes to make our community better and stronger.

You now know who we will honor, but, to find out why, you will have to attend our Annual Meeting & Cocktail Reception on Thursday, May 24, 2018, at 6 p.m. Whether you know one or all of our honorees, please join us as we honor them, and learn how great an impact each has had – and is having! If you don’t know who they are, then you should most definitely join us to learn how special each individual and organization is – and congratulate them yourself!

To attend our Annual Meeting & Cocktail Reception, please return the response card that comes in the mail with your invitation, or please call Jewish Federation at (609) 822-4404. 

Return to top