2014-09-03 / Local News

Installations & awards highlight Sept. 15 Katz JCC Annual Mtg.

DONNA BELL…will be reinstalled as JCC president on Sept. 15. DONNA BELL…will be reinstalled as JCC president on Sept. 15. Donna Bell will be installed for a second term as president of the Katz JCC in Cherry Hill at the Federation agency’s 57th Annual Meeting on Monday, Sept. 15.

Bell served on the JCC Board for 10 years as a vice president and as a member of the Executive Committee. She chaired the JCC Governance Committee, the Prospective Leaders Training Program, and served as Corporate and Festival chair of the Bank of America Festival of Arts, Books and Culture. She also served on the JCC’s Membership, Adult/Cultural/Judaic Department, Fundraising, Nominating and Event Planning committees. Bell received the JCC’s prestigious Alan Klein Next Generation New Leader Award, the Daniel Toll Award, and the Sidney Levy Volunteer of the Year Award. It was during the first year of her presidency that the JCC hosted the successful 2014 JCC Maccabi Games this past August.

As an active community leader, Bell cochaired the Jewish Federation Funds Development Donor Recognition sub-committee, served on the Jewish Senior Housing and Healthcare Service’s Board, participated in the Major Gifts programs and currently is involved with Lions of Judah and Jewish Women’s Foundation, and participated in the Federation Leadership Institute.

Bell worked for 18 years in the printing industry at Lehigh Press, formerly in Pennsauken. She and Richard, her husband of 46 years, are members of Cong. Beth El for over 30 years, where she served on the Board of Trustees. Their daughter Alison is married to Andrew Keim and they have two children, Jared and Samantha. Daughter Lauren is married to Holger Baeuerle and have a son, Max. Leisure time is spent at the beach in Margate, playing golf, and traveling with friends and family.

Installed along with Bell will be Vice Presidents Dr. Jodi Kaufman Cooper, Jeffrey Gottlieb, Steven Greenberg, Sherri Hoffman, Nancy Pearl, and Jeffrey Resnick.

The Annual Meeting will also include the presentation of the Sidney Levy Volunteer of the Year Award to the 2014 JCC Maccabi Games Executive Steering Committee: Dr. Mark Dannenbaum, KC Isdaner, Hope Morgan, Donna Rose and Bob Schwartz; the Community Builders Award to Zev Rose; the Alan Klein Next Generation New Leaders Award to Leslie Garonzik Katz and Michael Cherkas; the Center Service Award to the JCC Marketing Department: Stephanie Dworkin, Arielle Karpf and Beth-Anne Knapp; and the JCC Emerging Professional Award to Bonnie Carneglia.

The meeting will start at 6:15 p.m. in the JCC’s Lahn Social Hall and is open to the community. Pre-registration is necessary. A $50 couvert includes a light dinner that will be served at 5:30.

For reservations and more information, please call Rita King at (856) 424-4444, ext. 1223. .

Return to top